Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.




Diane Cotton (left) receives donations from the American Legion Commander and the American Legion Auxiliary in Franklin to support Read2Me's literacy program.

  Rotary Club of Franklin past-president Mike Norris (L) is pictured with the 2012 Read2Me Essay Award Winners, Yailyn Zuniga (second from left) and Giovanni Rubio (third from left). Zuniga was the 5th/6th grade winner from Mountain View Intermediate School and Rubio was the 3rd/4th grade winner from Cartoogechaye Elementary School. Also pictured is Club President Gary Dills (second from right) and Britanny Parker (R). the students were awarded at the May 30th, 2012 Club Meeting.


A Read2Me leadership meeting October 2012.



Rotary Club of Franklin Read2Me

Read2Me is Macon County' s effort to promote literacy with a focus on the 0-5 year age group. It is a community wide effort and is currently incorporating Highlands members in fund raising efforts to support the Dolly Parton Imagination Library project which would provide a book a month to each child who requests it, funds allowing.  Franklin Rotarians Karen Kenney (Club Chair), Fred Lindstrom, and Gary Dills were key in founding the program locally and continue to develop it.

 For more information on Read2Me contact club chair Karen Kenney.





2017 Read2Me Essay Winners at the April 19, 2017 Meeting.








President Sean Gibson and Read2Me essay award winners recognized at the April 13th, 2016 Rotary Club of Franklin Meeting.


2015 Read2Me essay winners reading their essays at the Rotary Club of Franklin meeting April 15th, 2015. Winners included grades 3-4 Avery Moorman, Harrison gates, Alyssa Smith and Ryan Jauraz. Grade 5-6 winners included Anabelle Cunningham, Sarah Brenner, and Kaden Thompson. Grade 7-8 winners were Morgan Bumgarner, Hannah Webb and Charley Inabinet.


Read2Me essay winners recognized April 23, 2014. Among the winners included grades (3-4) 1. Genevieve Maddox, 2. Eliza Tate and 3. Mercedes Ore. Grades (5-6) included Kirstin Cochran, 2. Laney Justice and 3. Catherine Shannon. Grades (7-8) included Leah Hoblit and Kierra Love and 2. Jacob Koch. 


In May, 2013 The Rotary Club of Franklin saluted the Read2Me Poetry Contest Winners for 2013. Winners included MVI 6th graders Morgan Bumgarner with first place in the amount of $50, Ariana Kimsey, second place $25, and two honorable mentions, Celeste McCall and Erica Myers.  All are students in Sara Shook's 6th grade class at MVI. Ms shook got $75 for her classroom since both first and second prize winners are in her class.






Macon Middle 7th graders Chase Holland (L), 2nd place winner of the "If I were President" Read2Me essay contest and Nicholas Walker (R) winner of the essay contest. Pictured is teacher James McNabb.




Macon Middle teacher Renee Rogers (L) is pictured with  7th grader Destiny Mashburn winner of the "If I were President" Read2Me essay contest on May 1st at the Rotary Club of Franklin..





Cadence Houser, 3rd grader from South Macon received 2nd place in the recent Rotary Club of Franklin Greatest President Read2Me essay contest on May 1st, 2013.






4th grader Dannah Stewart of Nantahala School (L) received honorable mention in the Greatest President Read2Me essay contest on May 1st. pictured with her is teacher Amanda Jouers.





Makayla West, 4th grader from Nantahala School took first place in the Rotary Club of Franklin Greatest President Read2Me essay contest on May 1st.







Read2Me Volunteer Diane Cotton (far left) at Waldo's Birthday Party Saturday November 3rd, 2012 at the Macon County Public Library.






Rotary Club of Franklin member Patti Abel and daughter volunteering at the Read2Me table at Streetfest in downtown Franklin September 28th.




Rotary Club of Franklin President Gary Dills (R) and volunteers at Streetfest on September 28th.















Read2Me Chair Karen Kenney (far left), 12-13 Club President Gary Dills, Read2Me Champions Gary Shields (back row center), Brittney Parker (front center) and Fred Lindstrom (far right).